Look Up

IMG_0285Recently my attention has been drawn upwards towards the sky.

I am not quite sure what has captivated my attention.

Perhaps its the many shades of blue or the extreme puffs in the clouds or maybe its the distinct clarity between the two.  Whatever it is, I am reminded of a two things, how big it is and how small I am.

Have you ever noticed how busy the sky is?  It is full of movement and constant change.  Birds, clouds, and the position of the sun are never at rest.  For lack of a better word, you could almost say it’s a living canvas.  A canvas with shape shifting clouds – expanding and dissipating –  giving the sense that the sky breathes as if it had a life of its own.

Watching the sky during the day or night, has reminded me of a couple of things.  I’ve already mentioned one, which is the awareness of how small and minuscule I am.  Another is that the Maker of the Universe holds it all together and last but not least, there is something larger, much larger, then the negative circumstances in life.

Everyday is a new creation with a new sunrise and sunset.  Yesterdays clouds are gone and the shades of blue have changed.  It is as if God paints us a new picture for us everyday and it if we are not actively looking up, we will miss it.

So I have a little experiment that I want to share with you.  It will only take a few minutes and very little energy.  You game? If so, all you need to do is grab your watch or cell phone, and head outside.  Once there, set your clock to go off in one minute and look down.  The first thing that you should see are your feet.  Without lifting your head look around, take a mental note at what you see.  Fight the urge to lift your head before your minute is up.  When your alarm goes off, reset for another minutes and then immediately look up, take a mental note at what you see.

What did you observe?  Did you notice that when you were looking down, that you were limited in what you could see?  Did you notice that your focus fell on the objects closes to you?  When you looked up what was the first thing that came to mind?  The brightness? How incredibly large the sky is?  Did you focus on any one thing or did you take all in?

Negative situations have the natural effect to pull our attention downward, causing us to focus on the blocks in life. Our ability to see beyond our circumstances become limited much like our little experiment displayed.  On the opposite, when we turn our attention upward toward God, our focus changes.  We no longer concentrate on the object causing us displeasure. Instead we focus on the One who is bigger then our circumstance.

Perhaps the expanse of the sky, and its ever changing backdrop, can serves as a daily reminder that God is actively at work.    And so I will encourage you, as I’ve often encouraged my kids, when you feel like life has gotten too “big,” and that you are about to be swallowed up by it.  Pause, go to a window and look up.

Look up and see that there is something bigger than you.  Look up and see that there is something bigger than your circumstance.  And look up and know that God can carry you through anything that life has to throw at you.

May the vastness of the sky remind you that it’s artist never rest His brush to convey….I am here and you need to do is to look up.

Donna

5 thoughts on “Look Up

  1. Dear Donna
    I also love to watch clouds. Have done it since I was a child. As I write this I would like to say that the video you
    Have posted ” You Raise Me up” IS a beautiful video of the
    sky, oceans, mountains And I enjoy listening to it of a morning before I start my day. It lifts me up. So Thank You for giving of your heart to others. I love You MOM.

    Like

  2. Hey Donna,
    I have had a love affair with the sky since I was very young. Most of my first photos were of clouds. My Dad would say, “Don’t you have enough pictures of clouds?!”
    NEVER!
    I especially like watching clouds out in the west. Not many trees. You could watch a thunderstorm far away and be driving in brilliant sunshine! God is certainly our Master Creator. His pallet is always fresh and always changing to give US pleasure!
    What a concept.
    Wow.
    Thanks for the great post. Blessings.

    Like

  3. Beautifully written, Donna. I share your attention to God’s handiwork. I love your last sentence and it certainly gives a person something to ponder about. Glad you like the fox. It was my joy to capture him!

    Like

  4. Donna, you told me recently that you expected to be raptured. Could that also have anything to do with you looking up to the sky? That’s where I’ll be when the trumpet sounds. “Behold He cometh with clouds, and every eye shall see Him…” Revelation 1:7 Maranatha!

    Like

Path walking is always enriched when joined by others. Won't you leave your footprints along the way?

