Cougar vs Cub

Puma, Belgrade Zoo

Recently I received a video clip titled “Cougar vs Bear Cub,” a griping display of the fight for survival. (video at bottom of post)

The scene opens to a prowling cougar spotting the movement of a not too distant bear cub.

Taking leap he engages his hunt and the unsuspecting cub soon finds himself in a run for his life.

Desperately seeking avenues of safety, the cub’s distress increases as he realizes that his efforts continue to be thwarted.  The relentless cougar proves to be a much faster, stronger, and a more cunning opponent.

As I watched the saga unfold I found myself relating to the cub and quickly became his cheerleader.

  • I found myself urging and directing his steps.
  • I found myself silently shouting, hurry, hurry, run, run!
  • I found my heart sink as each place of sanctuary crumbled underneath him.
  • I found myself holding my breath as he ultimately had to face his foe.

As I continued to view this fight for survival, a spiritual correlation began to form in my mind.  How life, at times, is much like the scene that was taking place before me.

  • It was easy to substitute myself in place of the cub, and to substitute a “circumstance or person” in place of the cougar.
  • I saw how negative circumstances are relentless in the pursuit of robbing us from peace and tranquility.
  • I could relate to the “chase.”  Exposing how I want to run either mentally, emotionally, or physically from the things that cause me discomfort or fear.  And like the cub, exhaust all possible escape routes until I am forced to face my “foe.”

However, unlike the little cub, who thought himself alone, we as Christians have the promise that we never have to face a battle alone.

  • Deuteronomy 31:6 says, “Be strong and of good courage, do not fear nor be afraid of them, for the Lord your God, He is the One who goes with you.  He will not leave you nor forsake you.”

As the predators in life force us into a face-off, we also have the promise that He (Christ) will supply the strength that we will need to obtain victory.

  • Philippians 4:13 states, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

The ending of this video is one that I strongly can relate to.  It serves as a powerful reminder that God is our refuge and strength in times of trouble. (Psalm 46:1-3)

I would like to invite you as you watch the movie clip, to insert your personal substitutions.  Picture yourself as the cub, picture your “circumstance ” as the cougar and may you find victory in knowing that God has your back.

Donna

6 thoughts on “Cougar vs Cub

  1. Donna,
    I was holding my breath through all of this. I am so thankful that when I have times in my life and that I am holding my breath, my awesome God shows up to assist me in breathing. How Great is our God! Thank you my friend for the reminder through this video.

    Like

  2. Thanks Carol, for supplying the video, the inspiration for the blog!

    Deuteronomy 31:6 Be strong and courageous; don’t be terrified or afraid of them. For it is the Lord your God who goes with you; He will not leave or forsake you.”

    Just can not be mentioned enough!

    Like

  3. Well done as always, Donna. Thanks for the 2nd opportunity to view the video after reading your remarks. I’ve always clung to Deuteronomy 31:6. Now more than ever!

    Like

  4. Donna, Thanks for the little video. My son Caleb and I enjoyed watching it together. It’s nice to know no matter what we are not alone and God has our backs. Thanks for the reminder.

    Like

Path walking is always enriched when joined by others. Won't you leave your footprints along the way?

