I’m So Thirsty

Have you ever experienced a life situation that made you feel like you were walking through the scorching heat of a dry and forsaken land?

I’m so thirsty, I can feel it…Burning through the furthest corners of my soul.
Deep desire, I can’t describe it…Nameless urge that drives me somewhere…Though I don’t know where to go….

Have those situations left you parched and in need to quench your thirst for relief?

Seems I’ve heard about a river, from someone whose been…And they tell me once you reach it, That you’ll never thirst again…So I have to find the river…Somehow my life depends on the river…Holy river

During those life situations what do you reach for to help you get through?  Drugs, alcohol, food, shopping, work, etc. Do those things quench your thirst?  If so, for how long?  Are their effects lasting or fleeting?

Other waters I’ve been drinkin…But they always leave me empty like before
Satisfaction, is all I’m askin…Could I really be this thirsty, If there weren’t something more

Is there something more?  Something that can quench the thirst and the burning in our soul?  Something that offers everlasting effects?

Life situations have a way of bringing about a thirst.  A thirst to quench the hardship.  A thirst to quench the pain.  A thirst for relief.  A thirst for peace and comfort.  A thirst to be free.  A thirst to search for meaning.  A thirst to seek truth – is there a God?

I’m on the shore now, of the wildest river…And I kneeled and beg for mercy from the skies…
No one answers… I’ve got to take my chances… ‘Cause something deep inside me is cryin, This is why you are alive

When the desert of life has made me thirsty I use to reach for things that would served in a small degree of comfort by taking my mind off the situation. These temporal things served as a distraction and an easy escape, however, they were not sustaining.  I found myself right back where I had started from with no progress made towards overcoming or progressing through the situation.  And as hardheaded as I can be, I found myself making the same mistake over and over again, reaching for the things that could not help, only escaping never overcoming.  Until….I took a step of faith.

Now instead of reaching for temporary things to help me cope, distract, or escape, I reach for God and lean not unto my own understanding.  I trust in Him to lead the way.  To lead me out.  To lead me to peace and comfort. To lead me to freedom.  In this all things have been achieved and my search for meaning and truth has been satisfied.

I’ve done it my way, and I’ve done it His way.  My thirst has only been quench in His way.  All it took was a step of faith.  Ask, trust, and believe.

When those distressful times come try reaching for the everlasting water.  He is the only solution to quench such a demanding thirst.

So I plunge into the river…With all that I have, Praying this will be the river…Where I’ll never thirst again…I’m abandon to the river, And now my life depends, on the river…Holy river

  • Matthew 5:6 (Whole Chapter)
    Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.
  • John 4:14 (Whole Chapter)
    But whoever drinks of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst; but the water that I shall give him shall be in him a well of water springing up into everlasting life.
  • John 6:35 (Whole Chapter)
    And Jesus said unto them, I am the bread of life: he that come to me shall never hunger; and he that believes on me shall never thirst.
  • John 7:37 (Whole Chapter)
    In the last day, that great day of the feast, Jesus stood and cried, saying, If any man thirst, let him come unto me, and drink.
  • Revelation 7:16 (Whole Chapter)
    They shall hunger no more, neither thirst any more; neither shall the sun light on them, nor any heat.

Thirstyby Chris Rice

Was this post encouraging to you?  Then please share it and bring encouragement to others. Thank you.

Path walking is always enriched when joined by others. Won't you leave your footprints along the way?

