I Still Believe

Scattered words and empty thoughts, seem to pour from my heart.. I’ve never felt so torn before, seems I don’t know where to start…

Jeremy Camp

I Still Believe was one of twelve songs written by Jeremy Camp in the album titled Stay, released September 24, 2002.

On June 24, 2003, just eight months later, I Still Believe soared the singles chart proving that it’s heartfelt message of enduring faith resonated greatly with its listening audience.

But it’s now… that I feel… Your grace fall like rain…  from every fingertip… washing away my pain…

Jeremy Camp was born January 12, 1978 in Lafayette, Indiana.  He is the son of a Pastor who taught Jeremy how to play the guitar at an early age.  Not much is written about Jeremy’s early years but we can image, being a pastors son, that he was raised in the christian faith and would have been involved with the church at a very young age.

We do know that after graduating high school, Jeremy went on to attend Calvary Bible College in Southern California.  It was while attending the college that one of the worship leaders overheard him playing his guitar in the kitchen of the school.  After seeking Jeremy out, he encouraged him to become a part of the worship team.  Soon afterwards he was leading worship and playing all over Southern California.

Jeremy’s professional music career launched in the year 2000 with the release of Burden Me, and he has steadily produce an album every two years since that time.  And though Jeremy’s life seemed to be carefree, with a music career on the fast track, tragedy was not far away.  Soon he would find himself going down a road filled with pain and sorrow.

I still believe in Your faithfulness…I still believe in Your truth…I still believe in Your holy word…even when I don’t see, I sill believe…

At the age of 23, Jeremy, with music career well on its way, was married on October 21, 2000 to Melissa Henning-Camp.  However, their marriage was short lived when Melissa was diagnosed with ovarian cancer and died four months later on February 5, 2001.  Some of Jeremy’s early songs reflect the emotional ordeal of Melissa’s  illness but I Still Believe was the first song he wrote after her death.

Though the questions still fog up my mind…with promises I still seem to bear…even when answers slowly unwind…It’s my heart I see You prepare…

The only place I can go is into Your arms…where I throw to You my feeble prayers…in brokenness I can see that this was your will for me…Help me to know You are near…

Knowing that the lyrics of this song reflect the authors true journey into the darkness of lost and pain gives valid testimony that faith goes beyond the walls of religion and proves to be a solid anchor in the midst of the storm.  One can not write words such as these without having a true and solid relationship with God.

I still believe in Your faithfulness…I still believe in Your truth…I still believe in Your holy word…even when I don’t see, I still believe.

Jeremy is now remarried and has two daughters and a son. However, in 2009  he and his wife had announced that they were expecting a fourth child, but sadly three months into her pregnancy she lost the baby.

GMA DOVE Awards

Year Award Result
2004 New Artist of the Year Won
Male Vocalist of the Year Won
Pop/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year (“I Still Believe”) Nominated
2005 Male Vocalist of the Year Won
Rock Recorded Song of the Year (“Stay“) Won
2006 Artist of the Year Nominated
Male Vocalist of the Year Nominated
Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year (Restored) Nominated
Rock Recorded Song of the Year (“Lay Down My Pride”) Nominated
2007 Male Vocalist of the Year Nominated
Recorded Music Packaging of the Year (Beyond Measure) Won
Long Form Music Video of the Year (Live Unplugged) Nominated
2008 Song of the Year (“Give You Glory”) Nominated
Inspirational Recorded Song of the Year (“Give Me Jesus”) Nominated
2009 Male Vocalist of the Year Nominated
2010 Male Vocalist of the Year Nominated
Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year (Speaking Louder Than Before) Nominated
2011 Praise & Worship Album of the Year (We Cry Out: The Worship Project) Nominated
Recorded Music Packaging of the Year (We Cry Out: The Worship Project – Deluxe Edition) Nominated

Factoid:  Jeremy Camp, not only is a talented song writer and musician but is also an ordained minister.  You can keep up with the latest news about Jeremy at his official website;  www.jeremycamp.com

Path walking is always enriched when joined by others. Won't you leave your footprints along the way?

