How Deep the Fathers Love For Us

.

How deep the Father’s love for us…How vast beyond all measure
That He should give His only Son…To make a wretch His treasure

How great the pain of searing loss…The Father turns His face away
As wounds which mar the chosen One…Bring many sons to glory

Have you ever thought of God being in agony?  Have you ever thought of Him in heartbreaking torment?  If you are a parent can you image turning away from your child to consider the greater good for others?

Behold the Man upon a cross…My sin upon His shoulders
Ashamed I hear my mocking voice…Call out among the scoffers

Have you considered what drove God to allow His son to carry the cross even as the scoffers cried out for his blood?  When His sacrifice seemed in vain?

It was my sin that left Him there…Until it was accomplished
His dying breath has brought me life….I know that it is finished

Have you ever stopped to imagine how wrenching it must have been to hear the words, “Father why have you forsaken me?”

I will not boast in anything…No gifts, no power, no wisdom
But I will boast in Jesus Christ…His death and resurrection

Have you considered the tears of God?  Do you know that they were for you?  That His agony was invested for your good?

Why should I gain from His reward?…I cannot give an answer
But this I know with all my heart…His wounds have paid my ransom

I am fairly confident that parents all over the world would join me in saying, that they would not and could not ever allow their child, in any shape or form, suffer for a stranger, let alone give up their life for them.

Parents love and live their lives to protect, provide, and give security to their children.  They do all that they can to keep them from harm.  It is true that when their child suffers, they do too.

God is a Father too and experiences all the emotions that humans possess, after all he is the one that gave them to us.  So why do we not think of Him as a Father – especially during the time that His son went to the cross?

If we stop and really think about God through the heart of a parent, then we will just begin to understand the immense love that He has for us. It also makes me think that the human destination (without intervention) is so severely horrible that God was willing to go through this unbelievable torment to keep us from it (that is another blog in itself).

It’s a love I admit, that I can just barely grasp, and His sacrifice to give up His son for a world that does not embrace the unfathomable gift that it is, I will never understand.  It is as the words so beautifully stated “vast beyond all measure.”

It is a God love, that only God can give and He gave it to you and me.  Have you considered His agony?  Did He suffer it in vain?

 – How Deep the Father’s Love For Us (colored in green text) is written by Stuart Townsend

3 thoughts on “How Deep the Fathers Love For Us

  1. This song gave me chills as we rehearsed it for worship last week. I rarely consider what salvation cost. The lyrics remind me just how much God loves me that he would give His only son. WOW!

    Like

Path walking is always enriched when joined by others. Won't you leave your footprints along the way?

