Turn Your Eyes

Turn your eyes upon Jesus, Look full in His wonderful face, And the things of earth will grow strangely dim, In the light of His glory and grace.

imagesSometimes we need to be reminded, when things or people turn our eyes towards problems, that there is someone who can re-ground us and bring us back to center.

O soul, are you weary and troubled? No light in the darkness you see? There’s a light for a look at the Savior, And life more abundant and free!

In the years that I’ve worked in ministry, I’ve often had my focus drift toward “friction,” causing me to lose sight of the purpose in which I serve. Strife has caused me to focus on earthly things far longer then it should, and if not careful I can begin to get swallowed up by it

When those times come, I find that my only relief is to re-ground.  To refocus my attention. It starts with prayer and then listening to what God may have to say about it.  Before long I hear the Holy Spirit whisper… “Who do you serve and why are you serving?”

These gentle but direct thoughts probe for an answer – I serve my Lord and His work. This effective re-grounding causes me to turn from the distraction and return my focus to the One that causes all things to “grow strangely dim.” When I do, I find that the weight of discouragement, dissatisfaction, and disillusion, falls away and freedom envelops my soul. I no longer look at the problem in the same light.

It is good to know that God in all His goodness doesn’t leave me out there wandering in the dark or shaded places. He calls me gently back to His green pastures to drink of the quiet and still waters that only He can provide.

If your soul is weary and troubled.  And you can not see the light in the darkness that you are in.  Look towards the Savior and become grounded for He offers you a life that is abundant and free.

Be at peace.

Path walking is always enriched when joined by others. Won't you leave your footprints along the way?

