This Is Amazing Grace

images-38This is amazing grace…This is unfailing love…That You would take my place…That You would bear my cross.

You lay down Your life…That I would be set free…Jesus, I sing for…All that You’ve done for me.

These words are the chorus to This Is Amazing Grace, one of the newest songs from the album, The Ascension, written by Phil Wickham.

Since its release in September 2013,  The Ascension has received critical acclaim.  Elliot Rose of Cross Rhythms called it “An impressive album which will certainly help solidify Wickham’s position as an innovative worship songwriter.”

Who breaks the power of sin and darkness…Whose love is mighty and so much stronger…The King of Glory, the King above all kings.

Phil Wickham was born on April 5, 1984 in San Diego, California. His musically talented parents, John and Lisa Wickham, were members of the pioneering Jesus Movement bands (contemporary christian), The Way and Parable. John and Lisa had three children, two boys and a girl. Phil is their middle child and his success in the contemporary christian music industry continues his parent legacy to honor and praise God through musical talents.

Being raised in a Christian home, Phil at the age of 13, felt the need to make his faith his own and began leading worship for his youth group. He was encouraged by his parents to not only learn popular praise songs but to write his own, which I’ve read he relished.

Who shakes the whole earth with holy thunder…Who leaves us breathless in awe and wonder…The King of Glory, the King above all kings.

Phil began his full-time music career by touring California. In 2003, Phil along with his father John, recorded and produced his first album, Give You My World. He now has successfully recorded 8 albums and is solidly fixed as a contemporary christian singer/songwriter.

Who brings our chaos back into order…Who makes the orphan a son and daughter…The King of Glory, the King above all kings.

In November 2008, Phil married his longtime girlfriend, Mallory Plotnick.  Below is a quote that I found in an article about Phil on the Contemporary Christian Internet Radio K-Love.

“When I see the different aspects of who God is in different situations of life,” describes Phil, “a little glimpse of His love in how my wife and I continue to grow in our love for each other, His goodness when I find out I have a baby daughter on the way, his grace and forgiveness when I mess up for the hundredth time – my response to that love can be seen as jumping for joy where other times I respond by saying, ‘You are Holy and I am not,’ humbled and falling on my face.”

On September 10, 2011 Phil and Mallory celebrated the birth of their daughter, Penelope Maye.

Who rules the nations with truth and justice…Shines like the sun in all of its brilliance…The King of Glory, the King above all kings.

Worthy is the Lamb who was slain…Worthy is the King who conquered the grave…

This is Amazing Grace…This is unfailing love…That You would take my place…That You would bear my cross…You lay down Your life…That I would be set free…Jesus, I sing for All that You’ve done for me.

To read more about Phil Wickham’s heart drive and what sources have inspired his song writing visit, K-Love Interview

To visit Phil Wickham’s website click here

One thought on “This Is Amazing Grace

Path walking is always enriched when joined by others. Won't you leave your footprints along the way?

