Love’s Olympians: Going for the Gold

loveLove…what is it?

You may think that is a silly question but with the many uses and types of feelings that are attached to love –  it is not as easy to answer as one would think.

I love my parents, family, children, and friends. I love my significant other. I love my pet. I love chocolate. I love football. I love to read. I love the color green. I love the beach and mountains. I love horses, lions and whales.  I love this, I love that…The list could go on and on.

The Greek language distinguishes the uses for love as:

So in the midst of all this love are we loving?

Is there yet another love that we may not be tapping into?

Watching the Olympics and being aware that Valentines Day is approaching, a converging thought arose in my heart and mind. The thought that there is a love, an Olympic size LOVE, which requires the dedication, discipline, and perseverance of an Olympian athlete to achieve. It is a love that is not being utilize as often as it should.

What is this love you may ask? Well it is not the type that comes natural to us. It is a love that goes beyond ourselves for it is higher. It is not to be reserved for just those who are the object of our affections. It is to be given liberally to all (yes… even to that annoying neighbor whose dog barks incessantly and kids run a muck). It is God’s idea of love and He counts on His followers to exercise it. He desires us to be His Olympians of Love.

So in keeping with the Olympic motif lets see if we are LOVE’s Olympians. Here are the qualifiers – 1 Corinthians 13: 4-7

  • Love is patient and kind.
  • Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude.
  • It does not demand its own way.
  • It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged.
  • It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out.
  • Love never gives up, never loses faith.
  • Love is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.

How did you qualify? Are you on your way to the Olympics? Are you in contention to medal?

Well if you are anything like me, these qualifiers are sobering and a bit daunting. However, in looking at the last qualifier – Love is always hopeful – I am encouraged to believe that I can achieve all of God’s attributes of Love and be in the medal count. But…I’m going to need help.

Philippians 4:13 says…I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.  So even though this type of love does not come natural to me, I can achieve it with the aid from the expert coach of love – Jesus Christ. It will take Olympian dedication, Olympian discipline, and Olympian endurance but through Christ I can achieve Gold for love.

I will never be a physical Olympian who stands on the World’s medal stage bringing honor and glory to my country.  However, I can be an Olympian of God’s love and bring home the gold for His honor and glory.  A medal that will never tarnish or fade away for God’s love is everlasting.

Endeavoring to go for Gold want to join the team?

One thought on “Love’s Olympians: Going for the Gold

  1. I needed this refresher and reminder of true love. Not as the worlds idea of love but as Gods. Thank you for the post. I need to continue my training and perseverance.

    Like

Path walking is always enriched when joined by others. Won't you leave your footprints along the way?

