A Hiding Place

lightI have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.” John 16:33

We live in a fallen world filled with trials, troubles, pain, and death. And at times the shadows of darkness can become so thick that we can often lose sight of the Light.

You are my hiding place…You protect me from trouble…You surround me with joyful shouts of deliverance. Psalms 32:7

Anxiousness and fear are often experienced when we are plummeted into the valley of shadows. They are natural human emotions. Reactions to unsettling circumstances. However, when we experience these emotions we should not feel guilty or question our faith but purpose not to be held captive by them.

When I am afraid…I will trust in You. Psalm 56:3

Darkness and the place that it inhabits can be a perilous place to be, especially if we decide to sit in it.  Isaiah describes those who sit in darkness are as prisoner’s in a dungeon (Isaiah 42:7).

“Walk while you have the light, lest darkness overtake you. The one who walks in the darkness does not know where he is going.” John 12:35

Darkness does not need to hold us captive. As followers of Christ, we have been set free from the prison of darkness and have been given the power to overcome it. When we find ourselves in the shadows of it, as long as we keep walking and focusing on the Light ahead we will be delivered.  Emerging into a place of security, peace and victory.

“I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” John 8:12.

You are my hiding place…You protect me from trouble…You surround me with joyful shouts of deliverance. Psalms 32:7

I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.” John 16:33

If you are presently facing dark and perilous times may you find comfort in knowing that in Christ you are not forsaken. He is with you in those dark and lonely places and He will lead you out. May He become your hiding place. A place of sanctuary, renewal, and rescue.

Path walking is always enriched when joined by others. Won't you leave your footprints along the way?

