Does Anybody Hear Her?

Last week I uploaded a music video by Casting Crowns titled,  “Does Anybody Hear Her?” (it is posted at the bottom of this post).

The song has a powerful message that tells of hurting people who are desperately searching for hope, peace, and relief from the pain in their lives.

The lyrics also beckons to Christians by reminding them that there are lost and lonely people in need of Christ and serve as a wake up call that urges us not to forget where we’ve come from, for souls are hanging in the balance.

So if there are hurting people searching for hope, love, and relief from pain, why don’t we see them?

As I’ve asked myself this question, I reflected back to the time when I first became a Christian and remembered the excitement and desire that I had to share Christ with others.  I hate to admit that over the years my zeal has slowed at bit, and I fear that I have lost many opportunities to share the good news with those in need of it.

So what causes that?  Do you think  in our busyness to grow in Christ, that we start becoming numb, or blind to those that live outside the realm of Christianity?  Is it the excitement with new found christian friends that we become unintentionally exclusive?  Or could it be that we are so busy doing church, that we have forgotten to be the church?

As I’ve watched the music video, I couldn’t help but think about the warning given in Revelation Chapter 2: 2-5 where Christ addresses the church in Ephesus.

2 – “I know all the things you do. I have seen your hard work and your patient endurance. I know you don’t tolerate evil people. You have examined the claims of those who say they are apostles but are not. You have discovered they are liars. 3 You have patiently suffered for me without quitting.

4 – “But I have this complaint against you. You don’t love me or each other as you did at first! 5 – “ Look how far you have fallen! Turn back to me and do the works you did at first. If you don’t repent, I will come and remove your lampstand from its place among the churches.”

I am thankful to God in giving us Christian song writers who can, through their music, provoke thought and admonition to return to our first love, and get back to loving others as Christ would have it.

If you haven’t had a chance to listen and watch the video, I would encourage you to take a couple of minutes to receive the message that it shares.  You can watch it at the bottom of this post.  Below are the lyrics to “Does Anybody Hear Her,” brilliantly written, brilliantly conveyed.  Thank you Casting Crowns.

“Does Anybody Hear Her”

She is running…A hundred miles an hour in the wrong direction

She is trying…But the canyon’s ever widening…In the depths of her cold heart

So she sets out on another misadventure just to find…she’s another two years older…and she’s three more steps behind

Does anybody hear her? Can anybody see?

Or does anybody even knows she’s going down today…Under the shadow of our steeple…With all the lost and lonely people…Searching for the hope that’s tucked away in you and me

Does anybody hear her? Can anybody see?

She is yearning…For shelter and affection…That she never found at home

She is searching…For a hero to ride in…To ride in and save the day

And in walks her prince charming…And he knows just what to say…Momentary lapse of reason…And she gives herself away

If judgment looms under every steeple…if lofty glances from lofty people…Can’t see past her scarlet letter…And we never even met her

He is running…A hundred miles an hour… in the wrong direction

2 thoughts on “Does Anybody Hear Her?

  1. It appears that when Jesus said that the poor would always be with us, that can probably mean the poor in spirit and in many other ways as well.

    Churches have a way of forgetting that in that we can relate more with the Pharisee than the tax collector in Jesus’ parable.

    Life can get messy when trying to help people over the long term. Perhaps that is why we would rather seek personal peace and contentment than be on the lookout for those who do not have it.

    Thanks for your thought provoking post.

    Like

  2. I can relate to this hurting somebody needing to be rescued…that’s why I don’t like playing church!

    My hope comes from the one who died for me, not from so called church people who know nothing about loving people where they are at instead of pushing them away.

    Hurting people don’t need ‘perfect people’ who go to church to hang out with other “perfect people”. But rather, perfect love that only comes from Jesus.

    Shame on any church who tells someone they are not welcome, because they do not act like or look like them. It is sad that the lost and hurting people are not welcome in churches who are afraid to touch the ones that need it the most! …thank you Donna! for sharing this ❤

    Like

Path walking is always enriched when joined by others. Won't you leave your footprints along the way?